The Learning Society

The Learning Society consists of alumni and friends whose leadership and generosity in annual giving provide vital support to the School of Education and Social Policy.

Michelle Bueche (left) and Marcella Ellis (right), shown here with Marjorie Fitzgerald (BS49), were the first to be awarded Marjorie Gosselin Fitzgerald Fellowships for their studies in elementary education
Michelle Bueche (left) and Marcella Ellis (right), shown here with Marjorie Fitzgerald (BS49), were the first to be awarded Marjorie Gosselin Fitzgerald Fellowships for their studies in elementary education.

The following alumni and friends made gifts to the School during fiscal year 2006 (September 1, 2005 – August 31, 2006).

INSIGHT CIRCLE $1,000 — $2,499

Joanna Maheras Alseth (BS38, MA/MS40)
Charles A. Alseth

Cinda Russell Axley (BS66)
Axley Family Foundation

Edith Howard Bostic (BS74)

Donald A. Canar (BS47, PhD63)

Leroy T. Carlson, Jr.
Catherine Mouly

Shinae Jun Chun (MA/MS71)
Kyong Chul Chun (PhD McC73)

Randi Robinson Cohen (BS78)
Lawrence W. Cohen

Betty Ross Conner (WCAS53)

Katherine Pierson Crosby (BS62)
David P. Crosby

Violet L. Dennhardt
Walter Dennhardt

General Mills Foundation

Georgia Pacific

Arthur J. Hill

Jennifer Friedman Hillis (WCAS74)
Robert J. Hillis

Joan L. Hochschild (BS67, PhD87)

Houghton Mifflin

Claire Tolf Hugi (WCAS78)
Robert F. Hugi (BS80)

Colleen Karavites Karr (BS48)
James F. Karr (WCAS42)

Thomas Kasten
Kendra Kasten

Bernice Johnson Koglin (BS52)
Norman A. Koglin

Laura Smith Lee (BS83)

Eli Lilly and Company

Ray B. Loeschner (MA/MS57, PhD62)
Nancy J. Loeschner

David H. Madsen (BS68)

Joan Jackson Martin (BS69)
David F. Martin

Patrick F. Mathias
Helen Mathias

Metropolitan Family Services

Bonnie Weidman Nugent (BS49)
D. Eugene Nugent (McC51)

Pentair Foundation

Progress Energy

James P. Richter (BS63, PhD71)
Martha Milnor Richter (WCAS63, MA66)

Wendy Fenstermacher Robin (BS70)

Sanger Family Foundation

Karen Ogren Sanger (BS69)
Steve Sanger

Martha R. Scott

Penny Bender Sebring (PhD85)
Charles A. Lewis

Rahal Shah
Shobha Shah

Margaret Auslander Silberman (MA/MS85, PhD89)
Alan H. Silberman (WCAS61)

Jane Kirby Smith (MA/MS62)

Smith Family Trust

Harrison I. Steans

Robin M. Steans
Leonard A. Gail

Stern Family Foundation

Russell T. Stern, Jr.

Eugene S. Sunshine (WCAS71)
Hollis Leach Sunshine (WCAS71)

The Tower Foundation

Judith Jurgensen Vartan (BS66)
C. Gerron Vartan (EB66, KSM67)

Marcia Smith Wilder (BS59)
Lowell W. Wilder

REFORMER $2,500 — $4,999
Ellis Kurtz Gery (BS61)
Lee H. Gery (EB61, KSM62)

Jan Susan Half (BS75)

Family and Friends In Memory of G. Alfred Hess

Kevin R. Hanrahan (BS80, KSM82)
Katharine R. Hanrahan

Barbara Downs Lewis (BS66)
Vincent J. Lewis

Lynne Tomer Miller (BS69)
Neal P. Miller

Norman R. Nedde (BS60)

Hannah A. Raleigh (BS96)

Gertrude Kaufman Silver Foundation

Patricia Walton Silver (BS68)

Jamie Genrich Steuer (BS53)
Joseph T. Steuer (WCAS49)

Elizabeth J. Sturgeon
Alexander I. Rorke (C74, WCAS75)

INNOVATOR $5,000 — $9,999
The Estate of Margaret A. Auld

Eleanor R. Baldwin (MS66)
Baldwin Family Foundation Trust

The Chicago Community Foundation

Daniel C. Ferguson

Diane Schaefer Humphrey (BS56)

Patricia Blunt Koldyke
Martin J. Koldyke, Jr.

Oak Brook Bank Charitable Trust

Susan Gecht Rieser (BS71)
Richard M. Rieser, Jr.

VISIONARY $10,000 or more
Aon Foundation

Helen Andrus Benedict Foundation

The Estate of Claudia D. Brinker

Jack Kent Cooke Foundation

The Arthur Vining Davis Foundations

The Estate of Mary E. Disbrow

Excelsior! Foundation

Helen L. Ferslev (BS55)

Marjorie Gosselin Fitzgerald (BS49)
Gerald F. Fitzgerald (EB49)

Foley Family Foundation

General Electric Fund

William T. Grant Foundation

John Malone Family Foundation

McCormick Tribune Foundation

Margaret John Menke (Mu41)

The Northern Trust Company

The Estate of Grace Jacobs Olwell

Deborah K. Kugler (KSM84)
Robert Ostrov

Quaker Foods & Beverages

Ryan Enterprises Group

Anderson R. Scott (WCAS90, KSM97)
Stacey Scott

Family and Friends in Memory of John M. Scott, Jr.

John M. Scott III

Walter D. Scott (EB53)
Barbara S. Scott

The Spencer Foundation

Barbara Olin Taylor (KSM78, PhD84)

Paul A. Witty Trust

Although we make every effort possible to ensure that names are listed correctly, we appreciate readers' assistance in bringing any inaccuracies to our attention.

For information on making a gift to SESP, please contact Laurie Carlin Davidson, director of development, at or visit

  • EB Evanston Business
  • FSM Feinberg School of Medicine
  • KSM Kellogg School of Management
  • McC McCormick School of Engingeering & Applied Science
  • Mu School of Music
  • WCAS Weinberg College of Arts and Sciences