Inquiry Magazine Northwestern School of Education and Social Policy

FALL 2012

Learning Sciences Alums Iris Tabak, Joshua Radinsky Named Journal Editors
Iris Tabak (PhD99) of Ben Gurion University and Joshua Radinsky (PhD00)

Learning Sciences alumni Iris Tabak (PhD99) of Ben Gurion University and Joshua Radinsky (PhD00) of the University of Illinois at Chicago were named the new editors of the Journal of the Learning Sciences. The pair will take over the journal in January 2013.

Tabak and Radinsky are the first international team to lead the Journal of the Learning Sciences, a multidisciplinary forum for research on education and learning. The journal has ranked in the top five most-cited journals in education for the past five years.

Future Wildcats?

Photo Courtesy of Michael Alperin
Future Wildcats

Michael Alperin (BS11), a teacher in New York City with Teach For America, shares this photo of his students, “who I hope will one day be enrolled at Northwestern or its peer institutions,” he says. SESP helped to supply his second-grade class at Leadership Preparatory Brownsville School with Northwestern apparel. Alperin, far left in the photo, says, “I have learned firsthand how difficult urban education can be and how joyous student successes are.”

Four Decades Apart, Two SESP Alumni Set Basketball Scoring Records

John Shurna (BS12) and Billy McKinney (BS77)

Basketball standout John Shurna (BS12) became Northwestern’s alltime leading scorer this year, tallying 2,018 points during his collegiate career. He broke the record held by a fellow SESP alumnus, Billy McKinney (BS77), who scored 1,900 points from 1974 to 1977.

McKinney played seven seasons for the NBA and is now director of scouting for the Milwaukee Bucks. For 25 years, he has been an executive for the NBA, helping to build the Chicago Bulls in the 1980s, directing player personnel for the Minnesota Timberwolves and working with the Detroit Pistons in the early 1990s.

Shurna averaged 20 points a game in conference play to become Northwestern’s first Big Ten scoring champion since 1951. He was a first team all-Big Ten selection and Associated Press honorable mention All- American. He signed a 2012 Summer League contract to play with the Atlanta Hawks.