Inquiry Magazine Northwestern School of Education and Social Policy

FALL 2012

Internet Icon

Seven SESP Grads Win NUPIP Fellowships

Seven 2012 graduates of the School of Education and Social Policy were selected as fellows of the Northwestern Public Interest Program (NUPIP). Nadia Ahmed, Steven Chau, Brittany Fawcett, Leah Martinez, Jane Merrill, Emily Roskey and April Stewart will work with Chicago nonprofit organizations as NUPIP fellows.

NUPIP is a one-year fellowship that helps train a new generation of leaders for social change through paid public interest work, professional development seminars and mentorship by Northwestern alumni. The organizations that the graduates will work with are LEARN Charter School, Chicago Metropolitan Planning Agency, Academy for School Leadership, Center on Halsted, Gary Comer College Prep and Galapagos Charter Schools.

Keenya Hofmaier

Keenya Hofmaier (BS10) of New York City was crowned Miss Black Arkansas USA 2012 in January. Hofmaier, a native of Pine Bluff, Ark., is earning her master’s degree in special education and also teaches students with autism as a New York City Teaching Fellow. Her official platform for the Miss Black USA Scholarship Pageant in August was autism awareness.

Jeremy Ebert (BS12) of Hilliard, Ohio, one of the nation’s top wide receivers, was a seventh-round pick in the 2012 NFL draft. He was chosen by the New England Patriots.

Nathan Randall (MS12)

Nathan Randall (MS12) of Newton, Mass., received an Education Pioneers fellowship for an education consulting project in Houston. He spent the summer developing and implementing a strategy to recruit corporate sponsors and industry mentors for a new career and technical education initiative within the Houston Independent School District..

Irene Romulo

Irene Romulo (BS12) of Cicero, Ill., won a 2012 Congressional Hunger Fund Fellowship, which provides both grassroots and public policy experience. She is the first Northwestern winner in four years.


Matt Underwood (BS00) of Atlanta was promoted to executive director of the Atlanta Neighborhood Charter School, a K-8 charter school with two campuses.

Emily Butler (BS03) of Baltimore graduated from Johns Hopkins University in May with a master’s degree in supervision and administration. She was accepted into New Leaders in Baltimore and serves as resident principal at Reginald F. Lewis High School this school year.

James Carney (BS05) moved to Philadelphia to do a clinical internship at Holcomb Behavioral Health Systems as part of his doctoral program at the Chicago School of Professional Psychology.

Shira Bergstein (BS06) of Santa Monica, Calif., graduated from the University of California-Los Angeles in June with a master’s degree in urban and regional planning.

Micere Keels (PhD06) of Evanston, an assistant professor at the University of Chicago, was named a William T. Grant Scholar. The awards go to outstanding early-career researchers with a commitment to significant research on youth development. Her proposal, “Consequences of the Within-Race/Ethnicity Gender Imbalance in the College Campus Setting,” focuses on the effects of college gender imbalances.

Richard Tinimbang (MS06) of Chicago, a graduate of the Master of Science in Learning and Organizational Change program, founded a company called JCH Home Health Care that was recently named one of the top 500 home health care agencies in the United States.

Victoria Lautsch

Victoria Lautsch (BS07) of Brookline, Mass., has taken a new job as manager of talent for Unlocking Potential, a nonprofit organization in Boston that turns around failing schools and restarts the schools with a new charter model. She will be working to recruit and retain excellent teachers and staff.

Susan MacDougall

Susan MacDougall (BS07) of Oxford, UK, is studying social anthropology in graduate school at Oxford University.

Lauren Parnell Marino (BS07) of Washington, D.C., is the community and media manager at Ashoka Changemakers, a nonprofit that encourages social entrepreneurship.

Syeda Lewis (MS08) of New York City is a higher education consultant who specializes in business process redesign and improvement.

Christine Leung

Christine Leung (MS09) joined Tennessee’s innovative Achievement School District in Nashville as director of accountability and assessment. She spent the past three years at San Francisco Unified School District, where she completed a two-year Broad Residency, and was an Education Pioneers Fellow at City Year in Boston. Her professional focus is on systemic change in public education.

Hannah Nielsen (BS09) was named assistant women’s lacrosse coach at the University of Colorado. At Northwestern, she won the Tewaaraton Trophy and the Honda Sports Award as the best player in the country both her junior and senior seasons.

Stacy Pancratz

Stacy Pancratz (BS09) of Huntley, Ill., accepted a job with the nongovernmental organization Innovations for Poverty Action. She is running survey data collection efforts in southern Malawi for a research project called “Incentives to Save and Work.”

Sam Schiller (BS09) of Chicago is working for two startups that develop renewable energy projects in the Midwest. He is also a founding co-chair of the Emerging Leaders board at the Delta Institute, an environmental and economic development organization.


Thomas Pavkov (PhD91) of Chicago is professor of psychology at Purdue University-Calumet, head of the university’s Institute for Social and Policy Research and interim head of the university’s department of behavioral sciences.

Inez Wright (BS93) of Las Vegas is deployed to Kuwait in support of Operation New Dawn as a general dentist at the medical treatment facility.

Saliha Nelson

Saliha Nelson (BS95) of Miami serves as vice president of URGENT, Inc., an urban renewal nonprofit organization, and earned an MSEd degree in community and social change at the University of Miami. She also was honored as one of Ford Motor Company’s South Florida Freedom’s Sisters, exemplifying dedication to social causes and humanitarian efforts.

Jobie Masagatani

Jobie Masagatani (BS86) of Kaneohe, Hawaii, was named director of the Department of Hawaiian Home Lands. Her previous post was special assistant to the CEO at the Office of Hawaiian Affairs.


Diane Balin (MA/MS73, PhD84) of Riverside, Ill., was appointed by the American Association of University Women (AAUW), state of Illinois, to be co-chair of public policy. She is administering an AAUW Impact Grant to encourage voter turnout.

Greg Castle (MA/MS75) of Charlotte, N.C., was promoted to executive vice president of human resources at FairPoint Communications.

Ron Knox (BS78) of Seattle is an owner of Garvey Schubert Barer, a law firm that received an Appleseed Award for Pro Bono Service from the social justice organization Washington Appleseed.


William B. Ware (MS65, PhD68) of Chapel Hill, N.C., was named the inaugural recipient of the McMichael Term Professorship at the University of North Carolina. He has taught in the School of Education at UNC-Chapel Hill since 1978.


John A. Howard (BS47, MA/MS49, PhD62) of Rockford, Ill., co-founder and senior fellow at the Howard Center for Family, Religion and Society, has a new book, America’s Best Colleges! Really?