Inquiry Magazine Northwestern School of Education and Social Policy

FALL 2013

Internet Icon

Renee Albrecht-Mallinger (MS10) of Chicago was promoted to mathematics instructional leader at Perspectives/IIT Math and Science Academy.

Ricki Meyer (BS10) is starting law school at Boston University after completing a master’s degree in education policy at Harvard University. Over the summer she interned in the general counsel’s office at the Department of Education.

Scott A. Stunkel (MS10) of Lake Bluff, Ill., is an AP computer science and technology teacher at CICS Northtown Academy in Chicago. His innovative use of the 3-D building tool Minecraft to create historical structures was noted in Connection, a publication of the College Board.

Kami Bond (MS11) of Elmhurst, Ill., now works for Aon Hewitt as global talent leader.

Amy Becker Collins (MS11) of Fairfield, Conn., joined as the director of learning and development.

Nicole Haris (MS11) of Long Grove, Ill., joined McDonald’s Corporation as manager of global human resources design.

Kelly McLaughlin Kennedy (MS11) of Chicago was promoted to director of development for the Law School at Northwestern University.

Neena N. Konon (MS11) of Chicago joined Grainger as director of global workplace strategy.

Aaron Faucher (BS12) of Chicago won a Venture for America fellowship. He had been an Urban Prep Fellow, working as an instructor and mentor at Urban Prep’s Englewood campus.

Lucy Gee (MS12) of Chicago joined SmithBucklin management services firm as the senior manager of talent development.


Maren McMullan (MS12) of Chicago is senior curriculum innovation specialist for eSpark, an education technology startup.

Jane Merrill (BS12) of Chicago received a 2013 Windy City Times “30 under 30” award for her work as an advocacy and policy fellow at the Center on Halsted.

Nate Randall (MS12) of Waban, Mass., is a marketing associate at Education Pioneers in Boston.

Ashley Schaefer (MS12) was hired to be the director of careers in education at Grinnell College.

Sadia Sindhu(MS12)

Sadia Sindhu (MS12) of Chicago was promoted to assistant director of employer development at the University of Chicago Booth School of Business.

Hari Vasu-Devan (MS12) of Moraga, Calif., is a lead teacher at the KIPP King Collegiate High School.

Kaleen Healey (PhD13) of Chicago is a senior research analyst at the University of Chicago Consortium on Chicago School Research.


Laura Cummings (BS04) of Chi- cago was promoted to managing director of program for the Chicago region of OneGoal, which works to make college graduation possible for all students..

Nancy Deutsch (PhD04) won the Outstanding Professor Award at University of Virginia’s School of Education, where she is an asso- ciate professor.

Caryn Schnierle (MS05) of Chicago was promoted to associate vice provost for enrollment management at the Illinois Institute of Technology.

Enid Rosario-Ramos (MS06, PhD11) of Ypsilanti, Mich., was honored with two top writing awards at the 2013 annual meeting of the American Education Research Association. She is an assistant professor at the University of Michigan.

Jamie Grim (MS07) of Fort Collins, Colo., was elected to the position of district representative in the U.S. House of Representatives. She handles higher education policy for Congressman Jared Polis and works with the universities in her district.

Gayle Shier (BS07) of Chicago authored an article on social support services for HealthAffairs. She is a program coordinator at Rush University Medical Center and a doctoral candidate in Northwestern’s Health Sciences Integrated Program.

Kristin Weyman (MS07) accepted a job as associate dean of students at Claremont McKenna College in California.

Alan Zarychta(BS07)

Alan Zarychta (BS07), of Boulder, Colo., was awarded a graduate research fellowship by the National Science Foundation to support his studies in the political science doctoral program at the University of Colorado.

Sarah Samuels (MS08) of Chicago was promoted to director of consulting services at Scion Group.

Courtney Syskowski (MS08) of Chicago, a graduate program assistant at Northwestern, won the 2013 Ver Steeg Staff Award for excellence in working with graduate students.

Robynn Yip(BS08)

Robynn Yip (BS08) of Hong Kong is part of the duo Robynn and Kendy that has released two albums with Universal Music Hong Kong. Previously she worked with the Autism Recovery Network in Hong Kong.

Lynne Bamford (MS09) of Chicago joined NorthShore University Health System as chief learning officer. She oversees professional development and training in electronic medical records.

Victor Lee(PhD09)

Victor Lee (PhD09) of Logan, Utah, won the Jan Hawkins Award for early career achievement presented by the American Education Research Association. He is an assistant professor at Utah State University.

Nancy Tai (MS09) of Chicago was promoted to senior manager of learning and development at the Acquity Group.

Eric Vos (MS09), the assistant dean of students and director of residential life at Claremont McKenna, is beginning his PhD in higher education at Claremont Graduate University.

Jacob Wertz(BS09)

Jacob Wertz (BS09) won a Building Excellent Schools Fellowship to establish and lead a charter school in an underserved area of Los Angeles. He receives a $100,000 stipend and support for 150 days of intensive training.

Natasha Yurk (BS09) of Bloomington, Ind., won a National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowship as a master’s student in statistics at Indiana University.


Mike Nekritz (MS92) of Northbrook, Ill., a school consultant and former superintendent of Community High School District 117, founded the Felicity School, a private therapeutic day school.

Dawn Nash Pfeiffer (BS93) of Worth, Ill., was promoted to chief marketing officer at System Development Integration in Chicago.

Jill Wachholz(MS94)

Jill Wachholz (MS94) of Chicago assumed a new role as senior manager of intellectual property development for Korn/Ferry International, a provider of strategic talent management services.

Betsi Burns Landolt (MS97) of Evanston accepted a position as associate director of athletics and assistant dean at Loyola University Chicago.

Diane Brzezinski Malik (BS97, MS02) of Arlington Heights, Ill., is director of business development at University Icons.

Aaron Olson (MS98) of Chicago was promoted to vice president and global head of talent management at Aon Corporation.

Diane EmardHaleas-Hines(MS88)

Diane Emard Haleas-Hines (MS88) of Western Springs, Ill., who teaches social studies at St. Ignatius College Prep in Chicago, was selected by University of Rochester as a winner of the Singer Family Prize for Excellence in Secondary School Teaching.

Lorrie McClainFarrelly (MA70)

Lorrie McClain Farrelly (MA70) of Yorba Linda, Calif., published Terms of Temptation as a sequel to Terms of Surrender and Terms of Engagement.

Rose M. Gonzales (MA78) of Chicago, who retired last year from the Chicago Public Schools, has established a small business teaching English as a Second Language (ESL) in the adult education market.


Richard Wiley (BS56) of Washington, D.C., was included on the National Law Journal’s list of the “100 Most Influential Lawyers in America.”

Stanley Krippner (MS57) of San Francisco, a psychology professor at Saybrook University, co-authored The Voice of Rolling Thunder.