Inquiry Magazine Northwestern School of Education and Social Policy

FALL 2015

Internet Icon

Nicole Haris (MS10) of Long Grove, Ill., has been promoted to director of talent management for Asia Pacific, Middle East and Africa for McDonald’s Corporation.

Camillia Matuk (PhD10), assistant professor of educational communication and technology at New York University, won an award for best design paper at the 2015 Computer Supported Collaborative Learning conference.

Hannah Nielsen

Hannah Nielsen (BS10) of Boulder, Colo., was inducted into the Northwestern Athletics Hall of Fame for women’s lacrosse.

Alexandra Sims

Alexandra Sims (BS10) of Chicago is the new director of programs at the Office of the City Treasurer. She is working on revitalizing the city’s neighborhoods.

Brad Becker (MS11) of Northbrook, Ill., is CEO of doc&i, a software company he co-founded that brings transparency to prescription drug costs.

Taire Brown (BS11) of Tel Aviv, who earned an MBA at Tel Aviv University, is new business manager at Optimove software company.

Sean Fitzgerald (MS11) of Chapel Hill, N.C., was named chief operating officer and interim chief financial officer at GenSight, a portfolio management provider. He had been executive vice president at EverFi.

Robert Gustafson (BS11) of Wheeling, Ill., is beginning Harvard Law School this fall.

Cassandra Hart (PhD11), assistant professor of education policy at University of California-Davis, is co-heading a three-university team investigating virtual schooling. The researchers received a $1.6 million grant from the Institute of Education Sciences.

Jesse Newton (MS11) of Chicago is founder and managing director of NOD Consulting Network LLC. He left Booz & Company last year to launch a new human capital consulting model.

Lauren Solarski

Lauren Solarski (MS11) of Chicago is an Illinois finalist for the Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science teaching. A former teacher at St. Malachy School, she is now a doctoral fellow, instructor and research assistant at the Erikson Institute.

Matthew Dawson (MS13) of North Charleston, S.C., accepted a position with Google as a program manager after a teaching fellowship with the Google CS First program for computer education.

Sarah Levine (PhD13) has been appointed assistant professor at Stanford’s Graduate School of Education.

Elizabeth Pearl (BS13) of Washington, D.C., is working with the Department of Justice on technical assistance and grant programs for urban law enforcement agencies. She has an MA in American government from Georgetown University.

Stephanie Waite (MS13) of Chicago was recently promoted to director of leadership and organizational development at Ann & Robert H. Lurie Children’s Hospital.

Lindsay Badeaux (MS14) of Chicago is now admissions manager at the University of Chicago Booth School of Business.

Luke Cianciotto (BS15) of Mundelein, Ill., has a Princeton in Asia fellowship for teaching in Hong Kong.

Emory Erker-Lynch (MS15) of Chicago accepted a new position as program manager for undergraduate initiatives at Northwestern’s Buffett Institute.

Isabel Garcia

Isabel Garcia (BS15) of Irvington, N.Y., is a Princeton in Latin America fellow working with an education policy organization in Mexico.

Nicholas Royal (MS15), the winner of this year’s SESP graduate student Alumni Leadership Award, accepted a position as residence director for housing and residential education at the University of Denver.

Kathy Zebracki

Kathy Zebracki (BS00) of Chicago was appointed associate editor of Developmental Medicine and Child Neurology and is co-editor of the textbook Spinal Cord Injury in the Child and Young Adult. Zebracki is clinical associate professor at Rosalind Franklin University of Medicine and Science and director of psychology at Shriners Hospitals for Children.

Aaron Hosmon (BS03, MS07) of Chicago was promoted to associate athletics director for compliance at Northwestern.

Emily Yatsko Sandusky

Emily Yatsko Sandusky (BS03) of Denver wrote the book Hope Triumphs ALL about her 24 years of cancer survivorship. She earned a master’s degree in 2006 and is now teaching elementarylevel special education and running a health and wellness business.

Martine Tariot Wells (BS03) of Lakewood, Colo., an associate at Brownstein Hyatt Farber Schreck law firm in Denver, was elected to the board of directors for the Babies Now! Foundation, which works to assist mothers and babies in need.

Dianna English

Dianna English (BS04) is serving at the U.S. Embassy in the Democratic Republic of the Congo in Kinshasa. She is program director for the Bureau of International Law Enforcement Affairs.

Nana Akua Anyidoho

Nana Akua Anyidoho (PhD05) of Accra, Ghana, became president of the Ghana Studies Association, an international affiliate of the U.S.-based African Studies Association. Anyidoho is a senior research fellow at the Institute of Statistical, Social and Economic Research (ISSER) of the University of Ghana.

Lesley Perry (MS05) of Takoma Park, Md., was promoted to senior program officer for fellowships and grants at the American Association of University Women.

Stephen Scott

Stephen Scott (MS06) of Oak Park, Ill., was promoted to assistant dean of students in the College at the University of Chicago.

Ray Mitic (MS08) is beginning a PhD program in higher and postsecondary education at New York University.

Alex White (BS08) and David Hoffman (BS09), both of New York, co-founded Next Big Sound music data analysis company, which was recently acquired by Pandora Media, Inc.

Megan Bang (PhD09) of Shoreline, Wash., an assistant professor at the University of Washington, received two research awards from the American Education Research Association.

Tammy Williams

Tammy Williams (BS09) of El Dorado Springs, Mo., was a 2014 inductee into the Northwestern Athletics Hall of Fame for softball.

Amy (Krichman) Slutzky

Amy (Krichman) Slutzky (BS98) of Buffalo Grove, Ill., has started a psychoeducational consulting business, LiveNLearn Consulting. She recently moved from Tucson, where she was teaching middle school and earned Honor Roll status of top 12 percent among 800 nominees for the 2015 Fishman Prize for Superlative Classroom Practice.

John Cerasani (BS99) of Chicago, president and founder of Northwest Comprehensive (NWC) employee benefits consulting firm was named Midwest employee benefits practice leader at Risk Strategies Company. He will also continue as president of NWC.

Margaret Clauson (MS99) of Northfield, Ill., was appointed superintendent at Skokie- Morton Grove School District 69. She had been assistant

Gary Zola

Gary Zola (MA/MS76) of Blue Ash, Ohio, a professor at Hebrew Union College, wrote We Called Him Rabbi Abraham: Lincoln and American Jewry and American Jewish History: A Primary Source Reader in 2014.