Inquiry Magazine Northwestern School of Education and Social Policy


Sabrina Ehmke, Corey Winchester Chosen for Global Fulbright

Sabrina Ehmke and Corey Winchester

Sabrina Ehmke (BS05) and Corey Winchester (BS10), both history and social sciences teachers at Evanston Township High School, were selected for a Fulbright-Hays international program this summer. They will travel to Bolivia and Peru to study and develop curriculum for a project entitled Indigenous Voices at the Frontier of a Globalized World. The Fulbright program is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education.

Internet Icon

Nicole Haris (MS10) of Long Grove, Ill., was promoted to director of talent management for McDonald’s Corporation, Asia Pacific, Middle East and Africa.

Stephanie Arias (BS11) of Chicago is the alumni affairs counselor at Urban Prep Academy.

Zhen Cheng (BS11) of Eugene, Ore., a graduate teaching fellow at the University of Oregon, received a $250,000 grant from the John Templeton Foundation for a psychological research project examining religion and cognition.

Amy DeSantis (PhD11) is an associate research scientist at Rand Corporation in Santa Monica, Calif.

Claire Lew (BS11) of Chicago is CEO of Know Your Company, a software tool for business owners.

Megan Luczak (BS11) is a site director for Match Education. She leads a team of Match tutoring fellows at Amundsen High School in Chicago.

Camillia Matuk (PhD11) of New York is assistant professor of educational communication and technology at New York University.

Rocio Reyes-Morales (BS11) of San Francisco joined IDEO as a new business associate. She manages the incubator studio for the global design firm.

Kelly Ross (MS11) of Chicago earned the professional certified coach credential from the International Coach Federation. She runs a consultancy, Ross Associates.

Yamini Bala (MS13), a teacher from Oak Brook, Ill., traveled to the West Antarctic Ice Sheet as part of the Velvet Ice Expedition to study the microstructure of ice crystals.

Aria Fiat (BS13) of Minneapolis is the research coordinator at the Masten Lab for Risk and Resilience at the University of Minnesota.

Miriam Klevan (PhD13) of Chicago, a private practice therapist specializing in issues of infertility, adoption and family life, holds a postdoctoral position at the Chicago Center for Family Health.

Caroline McGrath (MS13) is pursuing a PhD in organizational behavior at RMIT University in Australia.

Debby Ochoa (MS13) of Waunakee, Wis., is now director of human resources at American Girl.

Elizabeth Pearl (BS13) of Washington, D.C., is a presidential management fellow at the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development.

Kate Schultz (MS13) of Evanston is academic program manager for undergraduate and postbaccalaureate programs at the Northwestern University School of Professional Studies.

Sharon Kao

Sharon Kao (BS14) of Hong Kong received the Undergraduate Research Award from the Asian American Psychological Association.


Jennifer Haynes (BS00) of Denver was promoted to partner at Husch Blackwell law firm.

Micah Jindal (BS00) of Los Angeles was elected a partner and managing director of the Boston Consulting Group. He serves clients in the financial services industry.

Jeff Tsan (BS03) of Oak Park, Ill., was promoted to director of operations for the human capital practice at Willis North America.

Kaney O’Neill (BS04, MA06) of DesPlaines, Ill., was honored with the Woman Veteran Entrepreneur of the Year Award from the Women’s Business Development Center. She is president and CEO of O’Neill Contractors.

Whitney Eulich

Whitney Eulich (BS05) moved to Mexico City as Latin America editor for the Christian Science Monitor. She oversees Latin America coverage for the website and weekly magazine and curates the Latin America Monitor blog.

Evelyn Tsai Caliendo (MS06) of Chicago was promoted to assistant vice president of administration and planning at Northwestern.

Shannon Kennedy (MS06) of Chicago is now the associate director of admission at the University of Illinois at Chicago.

Arnaldo Rivera

Arnaldo Rivera (MS07) of Chicago is deputy chief of staff for education in the office of Chicago mayor Rahm Emanuel. Previously he was COO for Chicago Public Education Fund and deputy chief of staff for Chicago Public Schools.

Sadya Kahn (MS08) of Inverness, Ill., is now the assistant director of institutional research and planning at Moraine Valley Community College.

Alison Segal (MS08) of Evanston joined the SESP Master of Science in Higher Education Administration and Policy program staff as the new career coach.

John Colucci (BS09) of Chicago was named language arts department chair for Oak Park District 97.

Jacob Wertz

Jacob Wertz (BS09) is founder and executive director of Valiente College Preparatory Charter School, a public school for grades 4 to 8 that will open in August in southeast Los Angeles. Wertz completed a fellowship with Building Excellent Schools, a national organization that supports leaders of new urban charter schools.


David Carmody (BS90) of Austin, Texas, was named senior assessment designer, mathematics, for ACT, Inc.

Sally Bindley Millman (BS92) of Indianapolis, founder of School on Wheels, received the state of Indiana’s highest honor, Sagamore of the Wabash. Her nonprofit provides tutoring and other educational assistance to children affected by homelessness.

Gretchen Scheuermann (BS96) of Ruckersville, Va., an award-winning former Northwestern field hockey player, was inducted into the Vermont Sports Hall of Fame.

Steve Schnur

Steve Schnur (BS96) of Hinsdale, Ill., was promoted to executive vice president for the Midwest region at Duke Realty Corporation.

Kenya Key

Kenya Key (BS97, MA00) of Hillside, Ill., became chief psychologist at Cermak Health Services/Cook County Health and Hospital Systems at Cook County Jail in Chicago.

Shadd Maruna

Shadd Maruna (PhD98) of Albany, N.Y., is professor and dean at Rutgers University School of Criminal Justice. In 2014 he received the Hans Mattick Award for Distinguished Contribution to Criminology.

Merigan Kline-Neben (BS99) of Naperville, Ill., was named dean of student interventions at Naperville Community Unit School District #203.


Elaine Larkin Leighton (BS83) of Barrington, Ill., became director of education at the American Orthopaedic Foot and Ankle Society.

Andre Goode (BS85) was named vice president of operations and programs for the Boys & Girls Clubs of Greater Milwaukee.

Kelly O’Donnell (BS87) of Arlington, Va., received the 2014 Alumnae of Northwestern University Award. O’Donnell is Capitol Hill correspondent for NBC Network News.


Ronald Drozd (BS71) of Livingston, Texas, backpacked the more than 2,100-mile Appalachian Trail in a series of eight section hikes from 2007 to 2014.

Cyndee Schaffer

Cyndee Schaffer (BS71) of Northbrook, Ill., was selected by the Illinois Humanities Council to join its Road Scholars speakers roster with her presentation “The Journey to Mollie’s War: WACS and World War II.”

Sheila Merry (BS77) of Evanston was named the first executive director of Cradle to Career, a youth development initiative for Evanston.


Donald L. Mrozek (BS69) of Burr Ridge, Ill., is chairman of Hinshaw & Culbertson LLP, which merged with Barger & Wolen LLP in October, creating one of the nation’s largest insurance law firms.