Lindsay Chase-Lansdale Wins Distinguished Child Policy Research Award

Lindsay Chase-Lansdale Wins Distinguished Child Policy Research Award

Lindsay Chase-Lansdale
Lindsay Chase-Lansdale, professor of human development and social policy at Northwestern University’s School of Education and Social Policy, was selected to receive the 2011 Distinguished Contributions to Public Policy for Children award from the Society for Research in Child Development (SRCD).

This prestigious award recognizes her contributions to research on poverty, risk and resilience among children and families and her role in linking empirical research to effective policies to improve the lives of children, which have significantly impacted the field, according to SRCD. The award was presented at the biennial meeting of SRCD in Montreal on March 31.

Specifically, the award honors Chase-Lansdale for “pioneering research on child and family policy issues; for multidisciplinary work on longitudinal studies of children and their families living in low-income neighborhoods in three cities; for careful description of children’s and mothers’ experiences in three-generational families.” She is also credited with directing the first SRCD policy office in Washington, DC, and initiating the Society’s Social Policy Report, as well as “inspiring students’ and colleagues’ work at the interface between research and policy.”

SRCD is an international professional association with a membership of approximately 5,500 researchers, practitioners and human development professionals. Its goals are to promote multidisciplinary research in the field of human development, to foster the exchange of information among scientists and other professionals, and to encourage applications of research findings.

Chase-Lansdale is founding director of Cells to Society (C2S): The Center for Social Disparities and Health at the Institute for Policy Research, Northwestern University. She is an expert on the interface between research and social policy for children and families, a former Congressional Science Fellow, and the first developmental psychologist to be tenured in a public policy school in the United States.

She specializes in multidisciplinary research on social issues and how they affect families and the development of children, youth, and families. Much of her work addresses children's social and educational outcomes in the context of family economic hardship. Specific topics include two-generation educational interventions for young parents and children, early childhood education and care, postsecondary education for low-income young adults, immigration, welfare reform, maternal employment, marriage and cohabitation, parent-child relationships, and social disparities in health.

Chase-Lansdale is a fellow in the American Psychological Association and the Association for Psychological Science, and she serves as chair of the Board of Directors of the Foundation for Child Development. She is the recipient of the Society for Research on Adolescence Social Policy Award and the Martin E. and Gertrude G. Walder Award for Research Excellence at Northwestern. She also chairs the Visiting Committee of the Harvard Graduate School of Education and the NIH Study Section on Social Sciences and Population Studies.

She received her BA, magna cum laude, in social relations from Harvard University in 1974 and her PhD in developmental psychology from the University of Michigan in 1981. Her edited books include Human Development Across Lives and Generations: The Potential for Change (with Kathleen Kiernan and Ruth Friedman) and For Better and for Worse: Welfare Reform and the Well-Being of Children and Families (with Greg Duncan).

Prior honorees of the Distinguished Contributions to Public Policy for Children award are as follows:
1991 - Edward Zigler
1993 - T. Berry Brazelton, Betty Caldwell
1995 - John J. Conger, Robert Johns Haggerty
1997 - Kenneth B. Clark, David A. Hamburg
1999 - Beatrix A. Hamburg, Sheldon H. White
2001 - Aletha C. Huston, Henry N. Ricciuti
2003 - Leon Eisenberg, Stephen Ceci, Robert McCall, Daniel Olweus
2005 - Jeanne Brooks-Gunn, Felton Earls, Frank Furstenberg
2007 - Craig and Sharon Ramey, Jack Shonkoff, Ruby Takanishi
2009 - Mark T. Greenberg, James J. Heckman

By Marilyn Sherman
Last Modified: 7/20/17