SESP Scholar-Athletes Receive All-Big Ten Awards for Fall Sports

SESP Scholar-Athletes Receive All-Big Ten Awards for Fall Sports

Tyler Scott

Thirteen SESP students received All-Big Ten Awards as student-athletes in fall sports. For the first time in school history, Northwestern's fall student-athletes cracked the 100-award mark by earning a conference-best 104 Academic All-Big Ten honors across six sports.

Following are SESP’s 2013 fall season Academic All-Big Ten award winners:

Field Hockey
Nikki Parsley, senior • Learning and Organizational Change
Tara Puffenberger, senior • Sociology and Learning and Organizational Change
Kristin Wirtz, senior • Secondary Teaching 

Collin Ellis, senior • Learning and Organizational Change
Matt Frazier, junior • Learning and Organizational Change 
Tony Jones, senior • Learning and Organizational Change 
Zack Oliver, junior • Communication Studies and Learning and Organizational Change
Eric Olson, sophomore • Learning and Organizational Change 
Tyler Scott, senior • Learning and Organizational Change

Cross Country
Renee Wellman, sophomore • Social Policy

Katie Gancedo, junior • Social Policy
Bo Podkopacz, senior • Learning and Organizational Change

Stephanie Holthus, senior • Secondary Teaching 

Many Wildcats who excelled on the field also are among Northwestern's Academic All-Big Ten award winners. For example, Parsley and Puffenberger of field hockey both won Longstreth/NFHCA Division I All-America honors this season.

Northwestern is the lone Big Ten school to earn over 100 Academic All-Big Ten awards this fall season, topping Indiana's 94 and Michigan State's 90. Both IU and MSU sponsor seven fall sports while NU fields six varsity squads. For the list of all Northwestern Academic All-Big Ten award winners, see

To earn Academic All-Big Ten recognition, an athlete must be in at least his/her second year at the institution, letter in his/her sport and have a cumulative GPA of 3.0 or better.

Instituted beginning in 2008-09, Distinguished Scholar Awards will be handed out by the conference office at the end of the academic year. Student-athletes eligible for the Distinguished Scholar Award must be letter winners in at least their second year in residence at their institution. Qualifying student-athletes must have earned a GPA of 3.7 or higher for the current academic year, excluding summer school. The 3.7 GPA benchmark was designed to include the top 10 percent of all eligible student-athletes.

The Big Ten Distinguished Scholar Award was established by conference faculty representatives as an addition to the conference's Academic All-Big Ten program. This year's recipients will be honored prior to the fall of 2014 based on their GPAs from the 2012-13 academic year.

Photo: Football team captain Tyler Scott is an Academic All-Big Ten award winner. 

By Northwestern Athletics, Adapted by Marilyn Sherman
Last Modified: 1/3/14