Northwestern Academy Grads Heading to College

Northwestern Academy Grads Heading to College

AcademyThree years after they were chosen from non-selective enrollment high schools as Northwestern Academy for Chicago Public Schools’ inaugural cohort, 48 students are headed to 23 prestigious institutions, ranging from Northwestern University to Brown University and Colorado College.

The School of Education and Social Policy launched the college preparation and enrichment program in 2013 for Chicago Public Schools' (CPS) students who are diverse, academically talented and who qualify for the free or reduced lunch program.

This year, the program inducted 78 new students from 27 CPS high schools.

“This is a major milestone in Northwestern’s efforts to create innovative partnerships to help expand access for Chicago students to world-class educational opportunities,” said Northwestern President Morton Schapiro.

“As I said when we launched this program in 2013, Northwestern is deeply committed to supporting CPS students and providing more options that will prepare them for college and careers. With this first cohort, we are well on the way to fulfilling that promise.”

"It is particularly exciting to have two of these graduates coming to Northwestern next fall, along with approximately 125 other CPS grads," Schapiro added.

One Academy student heading to Northwestern is Andrew Duarte, a senior at Ogden International High School in the International Baccalaureate program who was accepted early decision.

“I have worked hard in school to get into a great university, but I could not have done it without the teachers I have at Ogden and the support of the friends and mentors I met at Northwestern Academy," Duarte said.

Northwestern Academy is an extension of the Good Neighbor, Great University initiative to expand college access under the dean’s office in the School of Education and Social Policy. Northwestern University underwrites the Academy program through donations from Northwestern alumni.

The graduating seniors have been accepted to Brown University, Colorado College, DePaul University, DePauw University, Dominican University, Earlham College, Illinois Institute of Technology, Kalamazoo College, Lafayette College, Loyola University Chicago, Macalester College, Marquette University, Morehouse College, Northwestern University, Parsons School of Design – The New School, Savannah College of Art and Design, School of the Art Institute Chicago, St. Olaf College, Swarthmore College, University of Dayton, University of Illinois at Chicago, University of Illinois at Chicago (Honors College), University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign and University of Michigan.

The students are graduating from the following CPS high schools: Amundsen High School, Back of the Yards College Preparatory, Benito Juarez Community Academy, Chicago Math and Science Academy, DeVry Advantage Academy, Disney II Magnet High School, Gary Comer College Prep, John F Kennedy High School, Lake View High School, Lincoln Park High School, Muchin College Prep, Nicholas Senn High School, Ogden International High School, Rauner College Prep, Richard T Crane Medical Prep, Schurz High School, Stephen Tyng Mather High School, Von Steuben Metropolitan High School, Whitney M. Young Magnet High School and William Howard Taft High School.

By Morgan Searles
Last Modified: 6/21/17