Inquiry Magazine Northwestern School of Education and Social Policy


Internet Icon

NBC Anchor Kelly O'Donnell Moderates Panel at Inauguration

Kelly O'DonnellPhoto by Peter Barreras

Kelly O'Donnell (BS87), White House correspondent and anchor at NBC News, returned to campus to moderate a symposium on energy and sustainability during the inauguration festivities for President Morton O. Schapiro in October.


Jon Derek Croteau (MA00) of Charleston, Mass., is a higher education and health care consultant with Witt/Kieffer and serves on the editorial board of the International Journal of Educational Advancement. He wrote The People First Approach, published in 2009.

Brian Malinowski

Brian Malinowski (MS00) of Wauconda, Ill., joined Employee Resource Systems, Inc. as director of business development. A licensed marriage and family therapist (LMFT) and certified employee assistance professional (CEAP), he previously maintained a clinical practice in marriage/ relationship counseling while working as a case manager.

Frank Fisher (MA01) of Union City, N.J., an assistant professor of mechanical engineering and co-director of the Nanotechnology Graduate Program at Stevens Institute of Technology, won a National Science Foundation CAREER award. He also recently won the 2009 American Society of Engineering Education Ferdinand P. Beer and E. Russell Johnson Jr. Outstanding New Educator Award and the 2009 Outstanding Teacher Award from the Stevens Alumni Association.

Jen Bernaz Milnes (BS03) of San Francisco was promoted to store planning manager at Banana Republic's headquarters, where she works on store-level forecasting.

Diana Schofield (BS03) of Glen Allen, Va., graduated with a doctorate in clinical psychology from Baylor University and wrote a chapter for the American Psychological Association's Play Therapy for Preschool Children. She is a postdoctoral fellow at the Virginia Treatment Center for Children at the Medical College of Virginia.

El Da'Sheon Nix (BS04) of Glenview, Ill., serves as administrative coordinator of Cabrini Connections, a tutoring and mentoring program for the Cabrini Green community, and Tutor/Mentor Connection, a networking program. In Sandusky, Ohio, he continues to fundraise for his Class of 2000 Streak of Excellence Scholarship Fund.

Molly Day (BS07) of Boston was one of three finalists for the 2009 Young Nonprofit Professional of the Year Award. She is working as a portfolio analyst at New Profit, a venture philanthropy fund, after serving for two years as executive director of campusCATALYST.

Julia Eksner (PhD07) of Los Angeles is doing postdoctoral research at the Center for Culture, Brain and Development at the University of California Los Angeles.

Autumn Cooper

Autumn Cooper McDonald (MA09) of Houston was named national director of strategic initiatives for Genesys Works, which provides education and work experience to economically disadvantaged students.

Natalia Palacios

Natalia Palacios (PhD09) of Charlottesville, Va., is assistant professor of education at University of Virginia's Curry School of Education

Pratim Sengupta(PhD09) of Nashville is assistant professor of teaching and learning at Vanderbilt University and directs the university's Mind, Matter and Media Lab.


John Linardakis

John M. Linardakis (MS90) of Elmhurst, Ill., has become an adjunct professor of chemistry at the College of DuPage. He is also on the medical research staff at Northwestern's Feinberg School of Medicine.

Aileen Landau (MS95) of Oak Park, Ill., taught kindergarten for two years in Oak Park and is now taking time off with her new son, Henry.

Kenya Key (BS97, MA00) of Hillside, Ill., is a licensed clinical psychologist at the Cook County Juvenile Temporary Detention Center.

Eric Brown

Eric Brown (MS99) of Chicago was elected to the National Education Association board of directors. He represents 120,000 members of the Illinois Education Association on that board and the Illinois State Teacher Certification Board. He teaches biology at Evanston Township High School.

Nsombi Ricketts

Nsombi Ricketts (BS99) of Trumansburg, N.Y., was named director of the Office of Diversity and Inclusion at Cornell University. Iris Tabak (PhD99) of Beer Sheva, Israel, was elected president of the International Society of the Learning Sciences.


Tammy M. Gocial

Tammy M. Gocial (BS86) of Ballwin, Mo., has a new position at Maryville University in St. Louis as associate vice president for academic affairs.

Gregory Marchant (PhD88) of Fortville, Ind., was honored with a Distinguished Alumnus Award from Indiana University in South Bend. Previously he had received awards for outstanding service (1996) and outstanding research (2005) from Ball State University's Teachers College, where he is a professor.


James Seamon (MA71) of Punta Gorda, Fla., after teaching for 31 years, is an adjunct faculty member at Florida Gulf Coast University, where he supervises student teachers.

Judith Selman Zawojewski

Judith Selman Zawojewski (BS73, PhD86) of Prospect Heights, Ill., associate professor of mathematics education at the Illinois Institute of Technology, is a member of the board of directors of the National Council of Teachers of Mathematics.

Jeff (Stuart J.) Swensson (MS74) of Westfield, Ind., was named superintendent for the Carmel Clay school district in Indiana.

Ce Cole Dillon (BS78) of Chicago was named interim CIO of Chicago State University.

Joy Preble

Joy Brown Preble (BS78) of the Woodlands, Texas, an English teacher at Oak Ridge High School, wrote her debut young adult novel, Dreaming Anastasia, a contemporary fantasy.

Victor Devinatz (BS79) of Normal, Ill., a faculty member at Illinois State University, was awarded the designation of Distinguished Professor.


Michael Somers

Michael Somers (BS62) of Fairfield, Calif., was named by Premier Book Awards first runner-up, 2009 Science Fiction Novel of the Year, for his Galactic Exodus.

Judith Pinkerton Josephson

Judith Pinkerton Josephson (BS65) of Encinitas, Calif., a children's book author, published Nelson Mandela in 2009. Her 2007 picture book, Armando and the Blue Tarp School, was nominated for a 2009–10 California Young Reader Medal, and a musical based on the book premieres this spring.

Art Ellison (MS66) of Concord, N.H., spent two years working with SEIU Local 1984 on the Obama campaign. He is state director of adult education in New Hampshire.