Inquiry Magazine Northwestern School of Education and Social Policy


Internet Icon

Alumnae Honors Founder of Guatemala Food Program

Alumnae Honors Founder of Guatemala Food Program

Sandy Neville Haggart (BS65), an international volunteer whose Feed the Dream program serves a thousand Guatemalans each day, was honored with the 2010 Northwestern University Alumnae Award. The annual award is given to outstanding alumnae who have made significant contributions in their field. Haggart created Feed the Dream to address nutrition and quality of life issues in remote areas of Guatemala.


Laurel Felt (BS02) of Glenview, Ill., worked as a consultant for African Health Education Network, where she created and co-implemented a program for individual development, community development, media literacy and communication for social change.

Rebekah (Wrobbel) Stathakis

Rebekah (Wrobbel) Stathakis (BS02) of Mount Prospect, Ill., wrote A Good Start: 147 Warmup Activities for Spanish Class, featuring interactive techniques to immerse students in the language.

Dianna English (BS04) of Washington, D.C., is the program officer for Sudan in the Bureau of International Narcotics and Law Enforcement at the U.S. State Department.

Ben Rubenstein (BS04) of Chicago is the marketing coordinator at McCormick School of Engineering at Northwestern.

Leah Doane

Leah Doane (PhD06) of Tempe, Ariz., is an assistant professor in the Department of Psychology (developmental area) at Arizona State University, where she researches aspects of stress and health.

Sara Petric (BS06) of Mequon, Wis., became athletic director at Franklin High School after earning a master's degree in administrative leadership from University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee.

Ben Protess (BS06) of New York is a reporter at the New York Times. He writes for the Business Section, blogging daily for DealBook and writing bylined news stories.

Emily Sunshine (MS08) of Houston was named Teacher of the Year at Stephens Elementary School, where she teaches second grade.

Kelly Kirkpatrick (BS09) of Davis, Calif., has a fellowship with the California state government and is working toward an MPP/MPA degree at Sacramento State University.

Corbin Bryant

Corbin Bryant (BS10) of Chicago, a tackle on the Northwestern football team, was a finalist for the 2010 Sportsmanship Award presented by the Awards and Recognition Association. He is a graduate student in sports management at Northwestern.

Michelle Jackson Harrison (MS10) of Delray Beach, Fla., started the nonprofit Harrison Foundation to help "at-risk" high school students transition into higher education.

Julie Karaba (BS10) of Washington, D.C., began an internship at the U.S. Supreme Court in January and will continue until she starts law school at Northwestern in the fall.


Wendy Vergoz (MS90) of Indianapolis is assistant professor of English and supervises student teachers at Marian University. Her poems have appeared in The Christian Century and Anglican Theological Review, and she leads poetry workshops at the Writers Center of Indiana.

Denise Kavin (MS92) of Pittsford, N.Y., was appointed special assistant for strategic decisions 2020 implementation at the National Technical Institute for the Deaf.

Rick Settersten (PhD92) of Corvallis, Ore., a professor at Oregon State University, is the author of Not Quite Adults, based on his work as a member of the MacArthur Research Network on Transitions to Adulthood.

Kathy Halley (BS93) of Brookline, Mass., was inducted into the Northwestern University Athletic Hall of Fame. As a field hockey player at Northwestern, she was named All-American three times.

Dan Montgomery (MS93) of Evanston, an English teacher at Niles North High School, was elected president of the Illinois Federation of Teachers.

Donald C. Martin (PhD94) of Chicago, who wrote Road Map for Graduate Study, was selected as the featured author for August by

Grace Hong Duffin

Grace Hong Duffin (BS95) of Orland Park, Ill., served as acting secretary for the Illinois Department of Human Services. She has now returned to her position as chief of staff for the department.

Carrie Jenkins Kamm (MS98) of Chicago collaborated on a new book, Teaching 2030, as a member of the TeacherSolutions 2030 Team assembled by the Center for Teaching Quality. Kamm helps struggling Chicago public schools through the Academy of Urban School Leadership.

Maria K. McKenna (MS98) of South Bend, Ind., completed her doctoral work in educational foundations at Saint Louis University and works for the Department of Africana Studies at the University of Notre Dame.

Lionel Allen, Jr. (BS99) of Chicago was appointed vice president of school operations and chief academic officer for Urban Prep Academies.

Betsey Frank (MS99) of Wilmette, Ill., is director of staff training and development at Sidley Austin LLP. She had been a research coach in the Higher Education Administration and Policy program and an independent consultant.


Christine Bruun (PhD80) of St. Charles, Ill., co-authored a book entitled We Are a College at War. She retired as chair of the psychology department at Rockford College.

Susan Popkin

Susan Popkin (BS82, MA86, PhD88) of Vienna, Va., is co-author of Moving to Opportunity: The Story of an American Experiment to Fight Ghetto Poverty. She is a senior fellow at Urban Institute in the Metropolitan Housing and Communities Center.

Kelly O'Donnell

Kelly O'Donnell (BS87) of Arlington, Va., White House reporter for NBC News, received the 2010 Northwestern University Alumni Merit Award for the School of Education and Social Policy.


Judith R. Frazin (MA/MS70) of Northbrook, Ill., received the Outstanding Contribution to Jewish Genealogy via Print award from the International Association of Jewish Genealogical Societies.

Louis Silverstein

Louis Silverstein (PhD70), of Evanston, Ill., Distinguished Professor of Humanities at Columbia College Chicago, wrote the memoir Encountering Life's Endings on aspects of death and dying.

Jane Kerschner (BS74) of Chevy Chase, Md., launched JICT Images, a tool for people serving in a leadership, training or coaching capacity.

Catherine Brady (BS77) of San Francisco is a professor in the MFA in Writing program at the University of San Francisco. Her story collection, The Mechanics of Falling, won the 2010 Northern California Book Award for Fiction, and her new book is Story Logic and the Craft of Fiction.

James Jennings

James Jennings (BS77) of Little Rock, Ark., is Cynthia Cook Sandefur Odyssey Professor of Education and History, associate professor of education and history, and chair of the education department at Hendrix College. His Above the Line program to help underprivileged children in the Arkansas Delta achieve academic success is expanding with new funding.


Peggy Gordon Miller (MS64) of Lubbock, Texas, former president of South Dakota State University and University of Akron, was named interim dean of the Graduate School at Texas Tech University.


Stanley Krippner (MS57, PhD61) of San Francisco gave seminars for the Chinese Institute of Humanistic and Transpersonal Psychology.