Inquiry Magazine Northwestern School of Education and Social Policy


In Memoriam: Shinae Chun (MS71)
Shinae Chun (MS71)

Shinae Chun (MA71), who served as director of the Women’s Bureau of the U.S. Department of Labor from 2001 to 2009, died on October 15. In 2005, Chun received the SESP Alumni Merit Award, and in 2006 she gave the SESP Convocation address. Throughout her career, Chun shaped policy in leadership roles in state and federal government. A SESP student fellowship has been established in Chun’s name.

Internet Icon
Sarah (Varick) Rand

Sarah (Varick) Rand (MA10) of Chicago was selected as a Community for Advancing Discovery Research in Education (CADRE) Fellow. She is an associate project director at the University of Chicago.

Corey Winchester (BS10) of Chicago, a teacher at Evanston Township High School, was honored with a Those Who Excel award from the Illinois State Board of Education.

Jane Wong (BS10) of Chicago is a senior associate at Pricewaterhouse- Coopers LLP.

Michael Alperin (BS11) of Cambridge, Mass., started a joint MBA/ MPP program at MIT and Harvard.

Kami Bond (MS11) of Elmhurst, Ill., was promoted to the global head of talent for Aon Hewitt.

Julie Kornfeld (BS11) is attending University of Michigan Law School. Her special interest is refugee law.

Megan Luczak (BS11) was named a Match Corps Chicago Fellow for professional tutoring. As a Rotary International Global Grant Scholar, she earned a master’s degree in public policy at the University of Salamanca in Spain.

Jenny Puchtel (MS11) of Chicago was named manager of Northwestern University’s re-accreditation process.

Michelle Terry (MS11) of Oak Lawn, Ill., is now director of joint appointment processes for the University of Chicago, Argonne National Laboratory and Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory.

Michelle Wilkerson-Jerde (PhD12) of Somerville, Mass., won a National Science Foundation CAREER Award for her research on data visualization for middle school science education.

Roberto Cabanelas (MS13) of South Barrington, Ill., has been appointed global head of human resources for Aon Hewitt.

Lafayette Cruise, Tania Murillo, Jessi Sharpe and Adriana Stanovici (all BS13) were chosen as Northwestern University Public Interest Program fellows to work with Chicago nonprofit organizations.

Hailey Daniscewicz (BS13) of Wauwatosa, Wis., a paratriathlete, won a world title at the International Triathlon Union international championships in London.

Matt Dawson (MS13)

Matt Dawson (MS13) received a two-year fellowship with Google’s Computer Science Teaching Fellows program.

Zoe Goodman (BS13) of Colorado Springs, Colo., is a fellow at El Pomar Foundation.

Debby Ochoa (MS13) of Waunakee, Wis., was recently promoted to director of human resources for American Girl.

Fred Tye (BS13)

Fred Tye (BS13) of Chicago is an advisory associate in the People and Change practice at KPMG.

Liz Fritz Vaggelatos (MS13) of DesPlaines, Ill., joined Forsythe, a technology consulting firm, as a knowledge manager.


Todd Lukens (BS03) of San Francisco is a doctoral candidate in clinical psychology at the Pacific Graduate School of Psychology- Stanford PsyD Consortium.

Jen Milnes (BS03) of San Francisco is manager of store planning and allocation at Sephora.

Molly (Gholson) Carlson (MS04)

Molly (Gholson) Carlson (MS04) of Emmitsburg, Md., is director of instruction at Hagerstown Community College.

Matt Petty (BS05) of Chicago was appointed executive director of Physicians for a National Health Program.

Doug Parks (MS06)

Doug Parks (MS06) recently joined Mercer’s New York office as the global human resources leader for talent.

Jessica (Michael) Harrell (MS07) of Rockaway, N.J., is high school director at Great Oaks Charter School. She is also working on a second master’s degree in educational leadership.

Victoria Lautsch (BS07) of Cambridge, Mass., is now manager of recruitment at Unlocking Potential, a nonprofit working to transform underperforming schools.

Eileen (Canney) Linnehan (BS07

Eileen (Canney) Linnehan (BS07) of Morton Grove, Ill., was named to the Northwestern University Athletic Hall of Fame for her accomplishments in softball.

Michelle Minarcik (BS07) of New York City was appointed an assistant district attorney in the Manhattan District Attorney’s Office.

Terrence Roche (MS07) of Oak Park, Ill., started in a newly created position overseeing program development and quality improvement for YMCA of the USA’s Healthy Living Department.

Neal Sales- Griffin (BS09)

Neal Sales- Griffin (BS09) was named to the 40 under 40 List at Crain’s Chicago Business. Sales-Griffin co-founded Starter League, the Chicago-based software development school.


Elizabeth Partoyan (BS93) of Alexandria, Va., is a senior fellow with the Forum for Youth Investment.

Steven Schnur (BS96) of Hinsdale, Ill., was promoted to regional senior vice president of the Midwest region at Duke Realty Corporation.

Cindy Rothschild Kaplan (MA97) of Minneapolis, co-founder of the SPOON Foundation, was elected into the Ashoka Fellowship for her work to improve nutrition for children worldwide. J

Jimmie L. Sanders (BS97)

Jimmie L. Sanders (BS97) of Gary, Ind., accepted a position as director of the Educational Talent Search at Purdue University Calumet.

Debbie Marshall Merovitz (BS98) of Chicago is a manager at Deloitte Consulting in the human capital service area.

Kim Hufferd- Ackles (PhD99)

Kim Hufferd- Ackles (PhD99) of Kenosha, Wis., a SESP adjunct instructor, founded and directs a school for complex learners called the Open Wings Learning Community.


Marsha Schwartz Landau (PhD84) of Evanston received a Humanitarian Award from Providence St. Mel School in Chicago for 13 years as a volunteer math specialist.

Craig Carpenter (BS85) of Lancaster, Ohio, was promoted to superintendent of Fairfield Christian Academy’s middle and high schools.

Deborah Gold (PhD86)

Deborah Gold (PhD86), an associate professor at Duke University, received the Distinguished Mentorship Award from the Gerontological Society of America.

Stephanie Mulder Bernal (BS88)

Stephanie Mulder Bernal (BS88) of Dallas is the newly appointed vice president of leadership giving at Dallas Women’s Foundation.

Joy Preble (BS78)

Joy Preble (BS78) of The Woodlands, Tex., a former English teacher and author of the young adult Dreaming Ana- stasia series, has written The Sweet Dead Life, and its sequel will follow in May.