Carol Lee Honored as AERA Fellow for Outstanding Education Research Accomplishments

Carol Lee Honored as AERA Fellow for Outstanding Education Research Accomplishments

Carol Lee
The American Educational Research Association (AERA) recently named SESP professor Carol Lee an AERA Fellow. She is one of 31 scholars to become AERA Fellows in recognition of their exceptional scientific or scholarly contributions to education research or significant contributions to the field through the development of research opportunities and settings.

AERA Fellows are scholars known both nationally and internationally for their outstanding achievements in education research. Through the Fellows Program, launched in 2008, AERA aims to convey its commitment to excellence in research and to underscore to new scholars the importance of sustained research contributions in the field. AERA is the national interdisciplinary research association for approximately 25,000 scholars who undertake research in education.

In announcing the new fellows, AERA executive director Felice J. Levine applauded these education researchers for their substantive and sustaining scholarship. “The Class of 2011 Fellows continues this professional society’s strong commitment to sound and rigorous research on education and learning that advances knowledge and thereby serves the public good,” she says.

The Tarry Professor of Education and Social Policy at Northwestern, Lee is the immediate past president of AERA, a member of the National Academy of Education, a fellow of the National Conference of Research on Language and Literacy, and a former fellow at the Center for Advanced Studies in the Behavioral Sciences. She is also the author of two books, Culture, Literacy and Learning and Signifying as a Scaffold for Literary Interpretation.

Several major awards have recognized her contributions to education. These include the Lifetime Achievement Award from the American Association of Colleges for Teacher Education, the Martin E. and Gertrude G. Walder Award for Research Excellence, the National Council of Teachers of English Distinguished Service Award, and the AERA Scholars of Color Distinguished Scholar Award. She has been a member of the faculty of the School of Education and Social Policy and African American Studies since 1991. 

The new AERA Fellows will be inducted on April 9 during AERA’s 92nd Annual Meeting in New Orleans. Nominated by peers, selected by the Fellows Program Committee, and approved by the AERA Council, the new fellows are as follows:

  • Michael Apple, University of Wisconsin, Madison
  • W. Steven Barnett, Rutgers University
  • Muriel Bebeau, University of Minnesota
  • Estela Bensimon, University of Southern California
  • David Bloome, The University of Ohio
  • Dominic Brewer, University of Southern California
  • Cheryl Craig, University of Houston
  • Christopher Dede, Harvard University
  • Mary Futrell, The George Washington University
  • Patricia Gandara, University of California, Los Angeles
  • David Hansen, Teachers College, Columbia University
  • Elfrieda Hiebert, University of California, Berkeley
  • Sylvia Hurtado, University of California, Los Angeles
  • Jonathan Jansen, University of the Free State
  • Mary Kennedy, Michigan State University
  • Carol Lee, Northwestern University
  • Henry Levin, Teachers College, Columbia University
  • Barbara Means, SRI International
  • Anna Neumann, Teachers College, Columbia University
  • Sonia Nieto, University of Massachusetts, Amherst
  • Michael Olivas, University of Houston
  • Randall Penfield, University of Miami
  • Robert Pianta, University of Virginia
  • Viviane Robinson, University of Auckland
  • Karen Seashore Louis, University of Minnesota
  • Walter Secada, University of Miami
  • William Tate, Washington University in St. Louis
  • John Tippeconnic, Arizona State University
  • Theo Wubbels, Utrecht University
  • Steven Yussen, University of Minnesota, Twin Cities
  • Bruno Zumbo, University of British Columbia 
The call for nominations for 2012 Fellows will open in summer 2011. Details and a complete list of fellows are available on the AERA web site,
By Marilyn Sherman
Last Modified: 3/3/11