Carol Lee Named to National Academy of Education Board of Directors

Carol Lee Named to National Academy of Education Board of Directors

Carol Lee

School of Education and Social Policy professor Carol Lee was recently named to the board of directors of the National Academy of Education. The National Academy, a highly prestigious organization limited to 200 U.S. members, is dedicated to advancing high-quality education research and its use in policy formulation.

Lee is the Tarry Professor of Education and Social Policy at Northwestern and a former president of the American Education Research Association. She is also the author of two books, Culture, Literacy and Learning and Signifying as a Scaffold for Literary Interpretation. Lee is a fellow of the National Conference of Research on Language and Literacy and a former fellow at the Center for Advanced Studies in the Behavioral Sciences. 

Lee is widely known for her research that shows the importance of drawing on students’ cultural knowledge to support rigorous learning. A former elementary and high school teacher, she is the co-founder of four African-centered schools with a 40-year history. These include three charter schools under the umbrella of the Betty Shabazz International Charter Schools where she serves as chair of the board of directors.

Several major awards have recognized Lee’s outstanding contributions to education. These include the Lifetime Achievement Award from the American Association of Colleges for Teacher Education, the Martin E. and Gertrude G. Walder Award for Research Excellence, the National Council of Teachers of English Distinguished Service Award, and the AERA Scholars of Color Distinguished Scholar Award. She has been a member of the faculty of the School of Education and Social Policy and African American Studies at Northwestern University since 1991. 

In addition to Lee, other SESP faculty members who are members of the National Academy of Education are SESP dean Penelope Peterson; professors Lindsay Chase-Lansdale, Larry Hedges, Douglas Medin and James Spillane; and professor emeritus Allan Collins. The Academy regularly convenes conferences and sponsors studies and reports, as well as administers the NAEd/Spencer Postdoctoral Fellowship Program.
By Marilyn Sherman
Last Modified: 1/28/16