Jim Spillane Appointed to Advisory Board for National Science Foundation

Jim Spillane Appointed to Advisory Board for National Science Foundation

James SpillaneSchool of Education and Social Policy professor James Spillane was appointed to the advisory board for the National Science Foundation’s Directorate for Education and Human Resources. He will have a three-year appointment starting fall 2017.

The Directorate for Education and Human Resources (EHR) promotes excellence in U.S. science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) education at all levels and in both formal and informal settings in order to support the development of a diverse and well-prepared workforce and well-informed citizens. EHR seeks to develop rigorous research in support of excellence in STEM education.

The role of the Advisory Committee for the Directorate for Education and Human Resources (EHR) is to provide advice, guidance, recommendations, and oversight concerning NSF's science and engineering programs. This includes effective and efficient strategies for assessing the condition of science, technology, engineering and mathematics education in the U.S., evaluating program results, achieving overall program balance, evaluating program results, and long-term strategic planning.

Other members of the EHR advisory committee are Bruce Alberts, University of California, San Francisco; Hyman Bass, University of Michigan; Sian Beilock, University of Chicago; Rebecca Blank, University of Wisconsin-Madison; Elizabeth Boylan, Alfred P. Sloan Foundation; John Bruer, James S. McDonnell Foundation; Ángel Cabrera, George Mason University; Catherine Casserly, EdCast; Carlos Castillo-Chavez, Arizona State University; Muhammed Chaudhry, Silicon Valley Education Foundation; Rory Cooper, University of Pittsburgh; Margaret Honey, New York Hall of Science; Karen Klomparens, Michigan State University; Okhee Lee, New York University; Mark Lipsey, Vanderbilt University; Carolyn Meyers, Jackson State University; David H. Monk, Pennsylvania State University; Roy Pea, Stanford University; Debra Joy Pérez, Annie E. Casey Foundation; Francisco Rodriguez, Los Angeles Community College District; Marilyn Strutchens, Auburn University; Beverly Daniel Tatum, Spelman College; Candace Thille, Stanford University; Laura Vermillion, Sitting Bull Tribal College; and Lilian Wu, IBM.

Spillane is the Spencer T. and Ann W. Olin Professor in Learning and Organizational Change at the School of Education and Social Policy at Northwestern University. He is also professor of Human Development and Social Policy, professor of Learning Sciences, professor (by courtesy) of Management and Organizations, and faculty associate at Northwestern’s Institute for Policy Research.

Spillane has published extensively on issues of education policy, policy implementation, school reform, and school leadership. His work explores the policy implementation process at the state, district, school, and classroom levels, focusing on intergovernmental and policy-practice relations. He also studies organizational leadership and change, conceptualizing organizational leadership as a distributed practice.

Recent projects include studies of relations between organizational infrastructure and instructional advice-seeking in schools and the socialization of new school principals. His work has been supported by the National Science Foundation, Institute of Education Sciences, Spencer Foundation, Sherwood Foundation and Carnegie Corporation of New York.

He has authored several books including Standards Deviation: How Local Schools Misunderstand Policy, Distributed Leadership, Distributed Leadership in Practice, and Diagnosis and Design for School Improvement, as well as numerous journal articles and book chapters. In 2013 he was awarded the Ver Steeg Research Fellowship at Northwestern University, and in ___ he was named an American Education Research Association Fellow.

By Marilyn Sherman
Last Modified: 4/27/16