Graduating Senior Carly Pablos Wins Ryan Prize for Community Service

Graduating Senior Carly Pablos Wins Ryan Prize for Community Service

Carly PablosSESP graduating senior Carly Pablos, who has devoted herself to various organizations that empower adolescent girls and youth, has won the 2016 Patrick G. and Shirley W. Ryan Prize for Community Service.

The Ryan Prize honors a graduating senior who exemplifies leadership and service through participation in University and community activities.

A social policy and international studies major, Pablos also won the Alumni Leadership Award presented by SESP alumni. After graduation, she will serve in the Peace Corps in the Dominican Republic.

During her four years at Northwestern, Pablos has demonstrated outstanding commitment to community service at the local, national and global level, according to the Division of Student Affairs, which presents the Ryan Prize.

With her focus on empowering adolescent girls and youth, Pablos founded the campus student organization International Gender Equality Movement (iGEM) and hosted 75 local adolescent girls at its annual summit. iGEM is a campus chapter of Girl Up, the United Nations campaign that promotes the education, leadership and well-being of girls globally. Off campus, Pablos was a committee member for Girl Up. In addition, she has led a Girl Scout troop for the past three years.

"As a young woman, I feel indebted to the strong women in my life who taught me to be confident, independent and brave throughout my childhood. I have chosen to work with adolescent girls because I want to give those same lessons to the next generation of female leaders," Pablo says.

Pablos was also involved with the campus group Supplies for Dreams, a nonprofit that works to improve the educational experiences of Chicago students, and Parents Step Ahead, which promotes parental engagement in their children’s education.

The recipient of the Ryan Prize for Community Service receives a cash award of $5,000. The prize was established to recognize Patrick Ryan’s 14 years of service as chair of Northwestern’s Board of Trustees, as well as Patrick and Shirley Ryan’s extraordinary volunteerism and commitment to Northwestern and the Chicago community.

Pablos is the third SESP student to receive the Ryan Prize in the past six years. Meixi Ng was selected as the inaugural recipient in 2010, and Sarah Carthen Watson won the prize in 2015.

By Marilyn Sherman
Last Modified: 6/23/16