SESP Students Honor High School Teachers

SESP Students Honor High School Teachers


Andrea Geyling-Moore 

Five inspiring high school teachers -- including three who were nominated by School of Education and Social Policy (SESP) graduating seniors -- have received Northwestern University Distinguished Secondary Teacher Awards (DSTA).

The awards honor high school teachers who have touched the lives of Northwestern students and carry an award of $2,500 for each teacher and $2,500 for each of their schools.

The teachers and their former students, including SESP’s Arielle Ticho, Ben Weiss, and  Osbeyda Navarrete, will each receive a special award during a June 15 honors ceremony and June 16 commencement at Northwestern.

SESP-nominated Northwestern University Secondary School Teaching Award recipients include history teacher Andrea Geyling-Moore of Milton Academy, Milton, Massachusetts (Ticho); music teacher Patrick Pearson of Oak Park and River Forest High School,(Weiss); and English teacher Raymond Salazar, of Chicago’s John Hancock College Prep High School (Navarrete.)

Other teachers honored include Northwestern alumnus David Masunaga ’79, a math teacher who was nominated by Weinberg College of Arts and Sciences senior Nicholas Yim, and Dana DesJardins of Niles West High School, who was nominated by Weinberg’s Barbara Gawin.

The awards are co-sponsored by the Associated Student Government and the Office of the President. Eugene Lowe, assistant to Northwestern President Morton Schapiro and senior lecturer in religious studies, co-chaired the 2017 selection committee, along with SESP senior Christina Cilento, president of Associated Student Government.

In selecting the winners, the selection committee considered essays from seniors about their former high school teachers. Committee members also considered portfolios submitted by the nominated teachers that included an explanation of their teaching philosophy and letters of recommendation. The nomination period for the Class of 2018 will open this summer, following commencement.

Read the full story.

By Julie Deardorff
Last Modified: 5/30/17