SESP Faculty Hailed for Prestigious Awards

SESP Faculty Hailed for Prestigious Awards

facultySchool of Education and Social Policy professors make up just two percent of Northwestern faculty, but they represented more than five percent of those recognized by a distinguished University-wide panel during the 31st Annual Faculty Recognition Dinner.

"You bring up the average of excellence for Northwestern, and we're really proud of that," SESP Dean David Figlio told the faculty.

The multidisciplinary Faculty Honors Committee reviewed award recipients identified by deans and department chairs, selecting the most prestigious awards for recognition. Each subcommittee reviewed awards in its respective fields.

SESP honorees included:

Emma Adam
Lyle Spencer Research Award
Spencer Foundation

Mesmin Destin
Emerging Leadership Award, American Psychological Association, Committee on Socioeconomic Status
Fellow, Association for Psychological Science

Larry Hedges
Honorary Member
European Association of Methodology

Yidan Prize for Education Research
Yidan Prize Foundation

Simone Ispa-Landa
William T. Grant Scholar
William T. Grant Foundation

Carol Lee
Lifetime Achievement Award
American Educational Research Association

David Rapp
Society for Text and Discourse

Terri Sabol
Early Career Fellow in Early Childhood Education and Development
American Educational Research Association and Society for Research on Child Development

Uri Wilensky
Rosaria Conte Outstanding Contribution for Social Simulation Award
European Social Simulation Association

By Julie Deardorff
Last Modified: 11/2/18