SESP Boasts 26 B1G Ten Distinguished Scholars

SESP Boasts 26 B1G Ten Distinguished Scholars

Football graduatesTwenty-five percent of the school-record 86 Northwestern student-athletes who earned Big Ten Distinguished Scholar recognition are studying in the School of Education and Social Policy.

In addition, six SESP lacrosse student-athletes received 2019 International Women’s Lacrosse Association Zag Sports Division I Academic Honor Roll honors, including Ivy Arlia (senior), Liza Elder (senior), Riley Johnston (junior), Julie Krupnick (junior), Selena Lasota (graduate student), Sara Szynal (junior).

Home to more than 400 undergraduates, approximately 350 graduate students, and 35 faculty, SESP is the smallest of Northwestern’s colleges. Yet students consistently earn a disproportionate number of academic accolades.

Distinguished Scholar Award recipients are full time students who must have earned Academic All-Big Ten Recognition in the previous academic year and had a minimum GPA of 3.70 or better during the previous summer year, excluding summer grades.

The Academic All-Big Ten threshold is a cumulative GPA of 3.0 or higher for a student's academic career. Big Ten Faculty Representatives established the Distinguished Scholar Award in 2008 to supplement the Academic All-Big Ten program.

 In addition to the distinguished scholar recognitions, Northwestern accumulated 200-plus Academic All-Big Ten awards for the ninth straight year. The Wildcats finished the 2018-19 year with a school-record of 265 student-athletes receiving the recognition for earning a cumulative GPA of 3.0 or higher.
Below are SESP’s 2018-19 Big Ten Distinguished Scholars:

Nick Cauley, junior, Learning & Organizational Change
Alex Erro, junior, Learning & Organizational Change
Casey O'Laughlin, sophomore, Learning & Organizational Change
Women's Basketball
Byrdy Galernik, senior, Learning & Organizational Change
Bryana Hopkins, senior, Social Policy & Business Institutions
Abi Scheid, senior, Learning & Organizational Change

Women's Cross Country
Kelly O'Brien, senior, Social Policy   

Women's Fencing
Adelle Berdichevsky, junior, Learning & Organizational Change
Sofia Simontov, sophomore,  Learning & Organizational Change
Abby Tartell,  junior, Learning & Organizational Change
Ramaud Chiaokhiao-Bowman , junior, Learning & Organizational Change
Padriac Fisher sophomore, Learning & Organizational Change
Jango Glackin , sophomore, Learning & Organizational Change
Montre Hartage, sophomore, Learning & Organizational Change

Ivy Arlia, junior, Learning & Organizational Change
Liza Elder, senior,  Learning & Organizational Change, Integrated Marketing Communications
Riley Johnston, sophomore,  Learning & Organizational Change
Julie Krupnick, sophomore, Social Policy
Selena Lasota , senior, Human Development & Psychological Services
Kate Paliotta, sophomore, Learning & Organizational Change
Sara Szynal, junior, Social Policy
Men's Soccer 
Drew Viscomi, junior,  Human Development and Psychological Services
Women's Soccer 
Hannah Davison , senior, Human Development and Psychological Services

Women's Swimming and Diving
Lindsay Adamski, senior, Human Development and Psychological Services

Men's Tennis 
AJ Joshi, junior,  Learning & Organizational Change
Women's Volleyball 
Allie Lindroth, senior, Human Development and Psychological Services, Sociology 

By Julie Deardorff
Last Modified: 7/26/19