SESP Leads the Pack in Big Ten Distinguished Scholars

SESP Leads the Pack in Big Ten Distinguished Scholars

veronica burtonVeronica Burton was one of 32 SESP students who received Big Ten Distinguished Scholar recognition.

More than a quarter of Northwestern University’s 2020-21 Big Ten Distinguished Scholars are enrolled in the School of Education and Social Policy, one of the nation's top schools of learning, leadership, and policy. 

Overall, a University-record 121 students received the distinction, which is given to students who received Academic All Big Ten recognition during the previous year and maintained a 3.7 grade point average. This year, the School of Education and Social Policy had a record-high 32 students who qualified.

Two athletes–Sam Lawrence (baseball) and Abigail Swallow (fencing)­–posted perfect GPAs during the 2019-20 year.  On the court, basketball player Veronica Burton was named to the 2021 USA Women’s AmeriCup team and received the Big Ten Defensive Player of the Year award for the second year in a row.

Below are SESP’s 2020-21 Big Ten Distinguished Scholars:


  • Tommy D'Alise            
  • Shawn Goosenberg    
  • Quinn Lavelle            
  • Sam Lawrence           
  • Tyler Uberstine         

Men's Basketball

  • Ryan Young                

Women's Basketball

  • Veronica Burton        

Cross Country

  • Olivia Verbeke           


  • Julia Falinska              
  • Julia Shalansky           
  • Abigail Swallow         


  • Trey Finison               
  • Charlie Mangieri        

Women's Golf

  • Jane Lu                        

Women's Lacrosse 

  • Maddy Balter              
  • Hunter Chadwick       
  • Kate Copeland           
  • Kate Paliotta              

Men's Soccer

  • Spencer Howard        
  • Bardia Kimiavi            
  • Connor McCabe         
  • Drew Viscomi             

Women's Soccer

  • Olivia Stone                


  • Nikki Cuchran             
  • Kendall Peterson        
  • Skyler Shellmyer        
  • Danielle Williams       

Women's Swim and Dive

  • Shaunmei Lim            

Men's Tennis

  • AJ Joshi                      

Women's Tennis

  • Hannah McColgan    


  • Lucas Davison
  • Jack Heyob                
By Julie Deardorff
Last Modified: 7/12/21