Scholar Athletes Win Kabiller Award

Scholar Athletes Win Kabiller Award

Group shot of Kabiller Award winnersReggie Fleurima (third from left) and Hailey Weaver (sixth from left) received the Kabiller Award.

School of Education and Social Policy undergraduates Reggie Fleurima and Hailey Weaver were among six Northwestern University student athletes named distinguished Irving Kabiller Memorial Award winners for their leadership qualities and commitment to professional development.

It’s the second straight year that SESP has had two recipients; last year Ty Berry (basketball) and Cam Porter (football) received the award from NU for Life, which supports leadership training, networking, and professional development.

Fleurima, a wide receiver from Naperville, Ill., plans to use the Kabiller support to learn more about the real estate industry and how to navigate life after sports. Weaver, a point guard from Solon, Ohio, wants to pursue a career in data analytics in professional sports, specifically basketball.

Fleurima and Weaver are both studying learning and organizational change at the School of Education and Social Policy. One of six different concentrations, learning and organizational change prepares students for leadership positions and emphasizes skills to facilitate individual, group and societal change.

In addition to Fleurima and Weaver, the other 2023 winners include:

  • Regan Cornelius (field hockey): political science
  • Ava Earl (cross country): political science
  • Gabriella Grust (soccer): business institutions, entrepreneurship
  • Ophelia Tong (fencing): biomedical engineering

The Kabiller NU for Life Program began in 2012 following a generous donation to Northwestern Athletics by David Kabiller '85, a member of the University's Board of Trustees and a former Wildcat tennis player.

In 2019, Kabiller committed a multimillion-dollar gift to endow the program, securing support for generations of future Wildcats student-athletes. The award, named in honor of David's late father, is given to juniors and is now in its eleventh class of recipients.

SESP Kabiller winners include:

2023: Reggie Fleurima (football) and Hailey Weaver (basketball)
2022: Ty Berry (2024) basketball and Cam Porter (2024) football
2020: Bardia Kimiavi (LOC21) men’s soccer and Tatyana Hardwick (HDPS22) volleyball
2018: Allison Lindroth (HDPS20) volleyball
2017: Hannah Davison (HDSP19) soccer
2016: Nikia Smith (LOC18) soccer
2015: Matthew Harris (LOC17) football
2013: Blake Allison McHugh (HDSP15) lacrosse

By Julie Deardorff
Last Modified: 10/27/23